Muse vs Everyone: ChatGPT, Dots, Claude, Grok Bot, Instinct, Muse Wonder, and Meta AI Compared

Muse is Meta's new personal agent, and the obvious question is how it stacks up against everything else that calls itself an assistant or an agent in 2026. This is an independent guide, not a Meta page: we put eight products side by side on the things that matter in practice, including pricing, how much they can do on their own, which apps they reach, where you can get them, and how much control you keep.

Independent guide - not affiliated with Meta or any vendor listedLast updated October 13, 20269 products compared

Quick verdict

The comparison table

Eight columns, grouped rows. The Muse column is highlighted. Where a vendor has not published a fact, the cell says Not disclosed rather than guessing.

RowMUSEMuseChatGPTAssistant
Basics
MakerMetaOpenAI
LaunchedSept 8, 2026GPT-6 Astra: Sept 3, 2026
What it isPersonal agent app that works toward goals across your appsBest forChat assistant plus agent features
Who it is forPeople who want tasks finished across appsGeneral chat, writing, research
Model and brains
ModelMuse Spark, then Muse WonderGPT-6 Astra
ContextNot disclosed1.05M tokens
Reasoning styleGoal-driven agent loopChat plus agent mode
Agent ability
Works on its ownYes: Yes - toward goals across appsWinnerPartial: Partial - agent features
Keeps working after app closedYes: Yes - runs in its own cloud VMNot disclosed
Computer use / browserYes: Yes - own browser in cloud VMYes: Yes - computer-use for business tasks
Multi-step tasksYes: YesYes: Yes - agent features
Apps and connectors
Built-in appsMeta apps plus connectorsNot disclosed
Third-party connectorsYes: Yes - connector ecosystemNot disclosed
APINot disclosedYes: Yes
Pricing
Free tierYes: YesIncludedNot disclosed
Paid tiersPower and MaximumNot disclosed
API price per 1M tokensNot disclosed$10 in / $50 out; Fast tier 2x
Availability
RegionsUS and CanadaNot disclosed
AccessFree app with Meta accountNot disclosed
Trust and control
Asks before sensitive actionsYes: Yes - email sends, purchasesWinnerNot disclosed
Memory controlNot disclosedNot disclosed
Data useNot disclosedNot disclosed
VerdictBest for finishing tasks across apps with approval controlsBest for general chat, writing, and research
RowMUSEMuseAgent appChatGPTAssistantDotsInside ChatGPTClaudeAssistantGrok BotAgentInstinctText assistantMuse WonderMODELMeta AIAssistant
Basics
MakerMetaOpenAIOpenAIAnthropicxAI (now SpaceXAI)Spear Street TechnologyMeta Superintelligence LabsMeta
LaunchedSept 8, 2026GPT-6 Astra: Sept 3, 2026Announced Sept 29, 2026Opus 5.5: Sept 22, 2026Beta Aug 11, 2026Not disclosed (invite-only, 100k+ users)Invite onlyAnnounced Oct 12, 2026Not disclosed
What it isPersonal agent app that works toward goals across your appsBest forChat assistant plus agent featuresAlways-on assistant inside ChatGPTChat assistant and coding modelPersistent per-task cloud-computer agentsAssistant you reach by text or phone callModel (the engine), not an appAssistant inside Meta apps
Who it is forPeople who want tasks finished across appsGeneral chat, writing, researchChatGPT Pro users who want a persistent helperCoders and heavy reasoning workPower users running agent teamsInvite holders who prefer textingDevelopers and Muse Code subscribersFacebook, Instagram, WhatsApp users
Model and brains
ModelMuse Spark, then Muse WonderGPT-6 AstraGPT-6 AstraClaude Opus 5.5Grok 4.6Not disclosedMuse Wonder; Wonder Full for subscribersMuse Spark
ContextNot disclosed1.05M tokens1.05M tokens (GPT-6 Astra)1M tokens, no long-context surchargeWinnerNot disclosedNot disclosed1M tokensNot disclosed
Reasoning styleGoal-driven agent loopChat plus agent modeProactive and persistentStrong on coding and reasoningChief-of-staff Bot coordinating specialistsConcierge style; can make phone callsActive Memory and Active FocusConversational
Agent ability
Works on its ownYes: Yes - toward goals across appsWinnerPartial: Partial - agent featuresYes: Yes - proactive and persistentNot disclosedYes: Yes - per-task BotsYes: Yes - Concierge acts for youNo: No - model onlyNo: No - conversational
Keeps working after app closedYes: Yes - runs in its own cloud VMNot disclosedYes: Yes - own cloud computerNot disclosedYes: Yes - persistent cloud computerYes: Yes - no app to closeNo: Not applicable - modelNo: No
Computer use / browserYes: Yes - own browser in cloud VMYes: Yes - computer-use for business tasksYes: Yes - Chrome in cloud computerNot disclosedYes: Yes - browser computer-use, no API neededPartial: Phone calls, not browserNo: Not applicable - modelNo: No
Multi-step tasksYes: YesYes: Yes - agent featuresYes: YesYes: Yes - coding and reasoningYes: Yes - team patternYes: Yes - assistants coordinate via Trusted Person NetworkPartial: Through the host appNo: Conversational only
Apps and connectors
Built-in appsMeta apps plus connectorsNot disclosed4000+ apps via pluginsWinnerNot disclosedNot disclosedPhone, text, location sharingNone - modelFacebook, Instagram, Messenger, WhatsApp
Third-party connectorsYes: Yes - connector ecosystemNot disclosedYes: Yes - 4000+ pluginsNot disclosedNot disclosedNo: No public connector programPartial: Through Meta Model APINot disclosed
APINot disclosedYes: YesPartial: Through ChatGPTYes: YesPartial: Bots work without an APINo: No public APIYes: Yes - Meta Model APINot disclosed
Pricing
Free tierYes: YesIncludedNot disclosedNo: No - needs Pro or Business PremiumPaid onlyNot disclosedNo: No - bundled into paid tiersPaid onlyYes: Free during early accessInvite onlyNo: No - paid APIPaid onlyYes: Yes - freeIncluded
Paid tiersPower and MaximumNot disclosedPro ($100/mo) and Business Premium; first Dot includedNot disclosedSuperGrok / Cursor tiers; separate usage from base plansNone yetWonder Full through Muse Code subscriptionNone
API price per 1M tokensNot disclosed$10 in / $50 out; Fast tier 2xNot disclosed$4 in / $20 out; cache read $0.20; batch half priceWinnerNot disclosedNo public API$4 in / $20 outWinnerNot disclosed
Availability
RegionsUS and CanadaNot disclosedNot in EEA, Switzerland, or UKNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
AccessFree app with Meta accountNot disclosedPro or Business Premium; one Dot initiallyPaid onlyNot disclosedPaid SuperGrok / Cursor; betaPaid onlyInvite only, over SMS or iMessageInvite onlyMeta Model API and Muse CodeInside Meta apps and meta.ai
Trust and control
Asks before sensitive actionsYes: Yes - email sends, purchasesWinnerNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedPartial: Warning: all Bots share one computer and credential poolNot disclosedNo: Not applicable - modelNot disclosed
Memory controlNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedActive Memory (model feature)Not disclosed
Data useNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed
VerdictBest for finishing tasks across apps with approval controlsBest for general chat, writing, and researchBest for ChatGPT Pro users who want an always-on helperBest for coding and long documentsBest for agent teams, if you accept the shared-computer riskBest for invite holders who want zero new appsBest for developers building on Meta modelsBest for quick answers inside Meta apps

Muse vs ChatGPT

What it is

ChatGPT is OpenAI's conversational assistant with agent features layered on top. Its current model, GPT-6 Astra, launched September 3, 2026 with a 1.05M-token context and computer-use for business tasks. The API lists $10 per 1M input tokens and $50 per 1M output tokens on the standard tier, with a Fast tier at 2x.

How it differs from Muse

Muse starts from the task, not the conversation. It runs in a dedicated cloud VM with its own browser and keeps working toward a goal after you close the app. ChatGPT starts from chat and adds agent features when you ask for them.

Where Muse wins

Hands-off execution across apps, a free tier, and an explicit approval step before sensitive actions like sending email or making a purchase.

Where ChatGPT wins

General chat quality, writing and research, a disclosed 1.05M context, and a mature public API with published pricing.

Who should pick which

Pick Muse if you want things done for you across apps. Pick ChatGPT if you mostly want to think, write, and research with a model.

Muse vs Dots

What it is

Dots is OpenAI's always-on assistant inside ChatGPT, announced at DevDay on September 29, 2026. Each Dot runs on GPT-6 Astra inside its own cloud computer with a Chrome browser, reaches 4000+ apps through plugins, and is proactive and persistent. The first Dot is included with Pro ($100/mo) and Business Premium. You get one Dot initially, and Dots are not available in the EEA, Switzerland, or the UK.

How it differs from Muse

Dots and Muse are the two closest products on this page: both are persistent agents with a cloud computer and a browser. The split is packaging. Dots lives inside ChatGPT behind a paid plan with a bigger app catalog. Muse is a standalone app with a free tier and its own connector ecosystem.

Where Muse wins

Free tier, standalone app, US and Canada availability, and a disclosed approval step before sensitive actions.

Where Dots wins

App reach, with 4000+ plugins out of the gate, plus everything else that comes with a ChatGPT Pro plan.

Who should pick which

Pick Dots if you already pay for ChatGPT Pro and want a persistent helper with a huge app catalog. Pick Muse if you want a free standalone agent and live in the US or Canada.

Muse vs Claude

What it is

Claude is Anthropic's assistant and model family. Claude Opus 5.5 was released September 22, 2026 with a 1M-token context and no long-context surcharge. The API lists $4 per 1M input tokens and $20 per 1M output tokens, with $0.20 cache reads and half-price batch. It is strongest on coding and reasoning.

How it differs from Muse

Claude is a model and assistant you work with directly. Muse is an agent app that works for you across your apps. Anthropic has not disclosed the kind of cloud VM, keep-running-after-close behavior, or consumer connector ecosystem that defines Muse.

Where Muse wins

Autonomous cross-app execution, persistence after you close the app, and a consumer-ready approval model for sensitive actions.

Where Claude wins

Coding, long documents, disclosed 1M context with no surcharge, and the most developer-friendly pricing in this comparison.

Who should pick which

Pick Claude for coding, analysis, and long documents. Pick Muse for errands, bookings, inbox work, and purchases.

Muse vs Grok Bot

What it is

Grok Bot is xAI's (now SpaceXAI) agent product, in beta since August 11, 2026 and running on Grok 4.6, released August 12, 2026. Bots are persistent, per-task cloud-computer agents that work through browser computer-use without needing an API. A chief-of-staff Bot can coordinate specialist Bots. It is bundled into paid SuperGrok and Cursor tiers with usage counted separately from base plans.

How it differs from Muse

Both run persistent agents on cloud computers. Grok Bot leans into teams of Bots for power users. Muse is one personal agent with approval gates. xAI's docs warn that all of your Bots share one cloud computer and one credential pool, so Bots are not a security boundary from each other.

Where Muse wins

Trust posture: Muse asks before sensitive actions, and there is no shared credential pool across agents. Muse also has a free tier.

Where Grok Bot wins

Multi-agent team patterns and the fact that Bots can work on anything a browser can reach without an API or connector.

Who should pick which

Pick Grok Bot if you want to orchestrate several agents and accept the shared-computer risk. Pick Muse if you want one agent with clear approval controls.

Muse vs Instinct

What it is

Instinct is from Spear Street Technology, founded by Noah Shinn. It is invite-only with more than 100,000 users, free during early access, and reached by text or phone call over SMS or iMessage. There is no new interface to learn. Its Concierge makes phone calls, a Trusted Person Network lets assistants coordinate with each other, and it supports location sharing. The company raised a $250M Series B in August 2026 at a $2.5B valuation and a $1B Series C on September 28, 2026 at $10B. It has no public API or connector program and no disclosed revenue.

How it differs from Muse

Instinct removes the app entirely and works over the channels you already use. Muse is an app with a visible agent, a browser in a cloud VM, and a connector ecosystem you can inspect and control.

Where Muse wins

Open availability in the US and Canada, a connector ecosystem, a browser that can operate web apps, and disclosed approval controls.

Where Instinct wins

Zero learning curve, phone calls on your behalf, and assistant-to-assistant coordination across people you trust.

Who should pick which

Pick Instinct if you have an invite and want help by text with no new app. Pick Muse if you want it today and want to see and control what it connects to.

Muse vs Muse Wonder

What it is

Muse Wonder is a model, not an app. Meta Superintelligence Labs announced it on October 12, 2026. Wonder is the standard model on the Meta Model API and in Muse Code at $4 per 1M input tokens and $20 per 1M output tokens, with a 1M-token context. Wonder Full is stronger and is subscriber-only through Muse Code. Both feature Active Memory and Active Focus. Artificial Analysis scores Wonder at 52 and Wonder Full at 56.

How it differs from Muse

This is product versus engine. Muse is the agent app you download and talk to. Wonder is the brain Meta is rolling in to power it, and the thing developers can call directly over the API.

Where Muse wins

Nothing to configure. You get the agent, the VM, the connectors, and the approval controls without touching an API.

Where Muse Wonder wins

Developers get direct access to the model at a competitive price, and Muse Code subscribers get Wonder Full before it reaches the app.

Who should pick which

Pick Muse if you are a person who wants tasks done. Pick Muse Wonder if you are building software and want Meta's model behind it.

Muse vs Meta AI

What it is

Meta AI is the free conversational assistant inside Facebook, Instagram, Messenger, WhatsApp, and meta.ai. It is powered by Muse Spark and answers questions where you already are.

How it differs from Muse

Meta AI talks. Muse acts. Muse is a separate standalone product with its own cloud VM, its own browser, and the ability to work across apps and connectors toward a goal.

Where Muse wins

Everything agentic: persistence, cross-app action, connectors, and approval controls.

Where Meta AI wins

Zero setup and presence inside the apps billions of people already open every day. It is also free with no tiers.

Who should pick which

Pick Meta AI for quick answers inside Meta apps. Pick Muse when you want something done rather than answered.

Muse vs ChatGPT vs Claude

These three are the ones most people are actually choosing between. The short version: they are not the same kind of product, and that matters more than any benchmark.

Muse

An agent. Free tier plus Power and Maximum. Runs in a cloud VM with its own browser, keeps working after you close the app, asks before sensitive actions, and reaches other services through connectors. Best when the goal is a finished task.

ChatGPT

An assistant with agent features. GPT-6 Astra, 1.05M context, computer-use for business tasks. API at $10 in / $50 out per 1M tokens. Best for general chat, writing, and research, with Dots available as the persistent agent if you pay for Pro.

Claude

An assistant and model. Claude Opus 5.5, 1M context with no long-context surcharge, $4 in / $20 out per 1M tokens, cache reads at $0.20 and half-price batch. Best for coding, reasoning, and long documents.

If you want one of each: let Claude write and review the code, let ChatGPT research and draft, and let Muse go book the flight, clear the inbox, and check out at the store. If you only want one, choose by the job you do most.

Benchmarks

Meta's launch materials for Muse Wonder include charts showing Wonder and Wonder Full against rival models. Treat those as Meta's claims, not independent tests. Vendor charts depend on the harness, the prompts, and the tool setup, and every vendor picks the chart that flatters it.

The independent reference we use is the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index. Higher is better.

On that index Claude Opus 5.5 leads at 58, Muse Wonder Full follows at 56, GPT-6 Astra scores 53, and the standard Muse Wonder scores 52. Grok 4.6, Muse Spark, and Instinct's model are not scored here. Remember that the consumer Muse app is still moving from Muse Spark to Muse Wonder, so the model behind your tasks may differ from the one in the chart.

Pricing

Cheapest developer option on paper: a tie between Claude Opus 5.5 and Muse Wonder at $4 in / $20 out, with Claude adding cache and batch discounts. Cheapest consumer agent: Muse, because it is the only persistent agent here with a free tier.

Privacy and control

Muse asks for approval before sensitive actions such as sending an email or completing a purchase, and it runs in a dedicated cloud VM rather than on your device. Grok Bot's own documentation warns that all of your Bots share one cloud computer and one credential pool, so you should not treat separate Bots as a security boundary. Dots runs on its own cloud computer inside ChatGPT. For ChatGPT, Claude, Instinct, and Meta AI, approval behavior, memory controls, and data use are not disclosed in the materials this page relies on, so the table marks them Not disclosed rather than assuming.

Whatever you choose, the practical rule is the same: give an agent the narrowest access that gets the job done, prefer read-only connections where offered, and review what it did before it does more.

Availability

FAQ

Is Muse better than ChatGPT?

It depends on the job. Muse is built to carry out goals across your apps and keeps working in its own cloud VM after you close the app, and it asks before sensitive actions like sending email or buying something. ChatGPT, on GPT-6 Astra, is the stronger general chat and research tool with a mature API. Pick Muse for getting tasks done, ChatGPT for thinking and writing.

What is the difference between Muse and Dots?

Both are persistent agents with their own cloud computer, but Dots lives inside ChatGPT and needs a Pro ($100/mo) or Business Premium plan, with one Dot initially and no access in the EEA, Switzerland, or UK. Muse is a standalone app with a free tier, available in the US and Canada. Dots has the larger app catalog at 4000+ plugins.

Is Muse Wonder the same thing as Muse?

No. Muse is the agent app. Muse Wonder is the model that powers it, announced October 12, 2026 by Meta Superintelligence Labs. Wonder is available to developers on the Meta Model API at $4 per 1M input tokens and $20 per 1M output tokens. Wonder Full is stronger and is subscriber-only through Muse Code.

How is Muse different from Meta AI?

Meta AI is the free conversational assistant inside Facebook, Instagram, Messenger, WhatsApp, and meta.ai, powered by Muse Spark. Muse is a separate standalone agent product with its own cloud VM and the ability to act across apps, not just answer questions.

Which is cheapest for developers: Claude, Muse Wonder, or GPT-6 Astra?

Claude Opus 5.5 and Muse Wonder both list $4 per 1M input tokens and $20 per 1M output tokens. Claude adds $0.20 cache reads and half-price batch. GPT-6 Astra lists $10 input and $50 output on the standard tier, with a Fast tier at 2x. Muse itself has not disclosed an API price.

Does Muse work when the app is closed?

Yes. Muse runs in a dedicated cloud VM with its own browser, so a task you start keeps going after you close the app. Dots and Grok Bot also run on cloud computers. Meta AI does not.

Is Grok Bot safe to give my logins?

Treat it with care. xAI documentation warns that all of your Bots share one cloud computer and one credential pool, so the Bots are not a security boundary from each other. Muse, by contrast, asks for approval before sensitive actions.

Can I get Instinct today?

Only by invite. Instinct is invite-only with more than 100,000 users, is free during early access, and has no public API or connector program. You reach it by text or phone call over SMS or iMessage, and its Concierge can make phone calls on your behalf.

Where is Muse available?

Muse launched September 8, 2026 in the US and Canada. It has a free tier plus paid Power and Maximum tiers. Other regions have not been announced.

Sources

Last updated October 13, 2026. Facts on this page come from the vendor materials below plus the independent Artificial Analysis index.